No New Taxes!

Written by Douglas County Republicans on .

Senate Approves 2/3 Tax Rule

In an effort led by Sen. Michael Baumgartner (R-Spokane) and Sen. Doug Ericksen (R-Ferndale), the Washington Senate today agreed to Senate rules requiring a 2/3 majority vote for all new tax increase proposals. These temporary rules, which last only for the current two-year term, were adopted to honor the wishes of WA voters who have consistently and overwhelmingly passed initiatives requiring a 2/3 majority vote of the Legislature for tax increases.

The Douglas County Republican Party would like to thank Sen. Linda Evans Parlette and the rest of the Majority Coalition Caucus for listening to the desire of Washington voters.

Read more about the rule change here or tell Sen. Parlette thanks by going here.